Start your adventure with Dr. Nicklaus Hart

I would love to connect with you.

Please sign up for my newsletter and I’ll send you a free copy of Maya Hope!

I send out quarterly newsletters so please don’t worry about me filling up your mailbox!

Start Maya Hope Now

Go Behind the Scenes

Larimer Street

Coming Soon

Can you be faithful to God when your experiences don’t match your expectations?

Based on the true story of the charismatic leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission, Larimer Street is the triumphant, epic tale of one man’s courage and redemption through his weaknesses and failures. There is power in going through—in surviving. And in the final analysis, losing some battles but winning the war.

Larimer Street, downtown Denver, 1907—Jim Goodheart, a tall and handsome man, loses everything. Staggering in drunkenness and desperation on a dark night in November, he decides to drink a bottle of carbolic acid and make room in the world for a better man. Jim stumbles onto the doorstep of the rescue mission on Larimer Street, Denver’s skid row.

In spite of Jim’s lifetime battle with alcoholism, and by divine redemption, he becomes known as the captivating leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission. Through World War I and the horrific 1918 Influenza epidemic, the Mission serves the destitute in an era without safety nets or social programs.

The pain of WWI and his personal war against alcoholism brings him to the point of losing it all again, except his faith and his loving wife, Ada. Larimer Street is a story of love, courage, and redemption. It is not a story of Jim’s success over his challenges, but a story of triumph through his failings and fragilities.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, faith and love.

    Behind the Scenes

    Step back in time and read sermon notes and letters directly from Jim Goodheart.

  • 96th Aerial Bombardment Squadron
    Letter from the 96th Aerial Bombardment Squadron thanking the Denver Rotary Club for loaning them Jim. View the file
  • Testimony of Jim Goodheart, Nov 12, 1917
    Stenographer's Report from Nov 12, 1917 of the Testimony of Jim Goodheart, Superintendent of Sunshine Rescue Mission, Denver. View the file
  • Jim Goodheart Sermon, Sunday, Feb 19, 1911
    Jim Goodheart sermon notes from Sunday morning, Feb 19, 1911. View the file
  • Jim Goodheart Sermon, Sunday, Feb 26, 1911
    Jim Goodheart sermon notes from Sunday evening, Feb 26, 1911. View the file
  • Jim Goodheart Sermon, Sunday, Mar 26, 1911
    Jim Goodheart sermon notes from Sunday morning, Mar 26, 1911. View the file
  • Summary of the 96th Bomb Squadron
    View the file